Hear Previously Unreleased Hoobastank Song, “Force Feed Me”

Today, Hoobastank released the 15th Anniversary version of their celebrated album, The Reason. The band prepared fans by first sharing a new lyric video for their bonus track, “Right Before Your Eyes,” then unveiling an acoustic version of the title track. Now that the album is out, fans can finally hear a previously unreleased song from those 2003 sessions: “Force Feed Me.”

Though it was recorded 16 years ago, we’ve never gotten to hear “Force Feed Me” before. It wasn’t on The Reason, nor was it included as a single b-side, album bonus track, or soundtrack album contribution. But some things are worth the wait, and it’s rewarding to finally get to hear this “new” song.

“Force Feed Me” starts with a crunchy guitar riff and rolling drums, an energized intro before the first verse. Frontman Doug Robb sings, “You think you found the way, and that’s okay for you and you alone / But why can’t you understand your master plan won’t work for everyone?” The song unleashes its energy on the chorus, Doug singing, “No one can say what’s best for me to think, but still you try to force feed me.” Lyrically, the song seems to target people who try to force their beliefs on others. Like album opener “Same Direction,” this may be directed at people pushing their religion onto Doug, himself an atheist. However, the message can work for any number of situations – nearly all of us have rejected unwanted advice and forged our own paths. Now we have the perfect soundtrack for it.

Listen to “Force Feed Me” below:

You can stream or purchase the 15th Anniversary edition of The Reason from all the major music providers here. The new edition features all 12 songs from the original 2003 album, plus an acoustic recording of the title track, three bonus tracks from the era, and the newly released “Force Feed Me.”

Check out the updated The Reason tracklisting – with 5 bonus tracks – below:

  1. Same Direction
  2. Out Of Control
  3. What Happened To Us?
  4. Escape
  5. Lucky
  6. Just One
  7. From The Heart
  8. The Reason
  9. Let It Out
  10. Unaffected
  11. Never There
  12. Disappear
  13. The Reason (Acoustic)
  14. Force Feed Me
  15. Connected
  16. Did You
  17. Right Before Your Eyes

Tracks 13-17 are new to this edition of the album. The acoustic version of “The Reason” is newly recorded, though the band has released other acoustic recordings of the song before. “Connected,” “Did You,” and “Right Before Your Eyes” all previously appeared on movie or video game soundtracks (Halo 2Spider Man 2, and Daredevil, respectively). The only previously unheard song here is “Force Feed Me.”

More Hoobastank News

Push Pull

Hoobastank’s most recent album of new music was Push Pull, released last year. It launched the singles “More Beautiful” and “Push Pull.”

The band toured in support of the album and did an anniversary tour of The Reason last fall.

Enjoy the newly uncovered “Force Feed Me,” and be sure to hear the rest of the 15th Anniversary edition of The Reason, out now. Revisit the old songs, and delight in the new ones, too. Keep checking back here for all the latest Hoobastank music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.