Hear Snippet Of “Poetry By Dead Men” From New Sara Bareilles Album

In just two short days, Sara Bareilles will release her long-awaited new album, Amidst The Chaos. Following singles “Armor,” “Fire,” “No Such Thing,” and “Saint Honesty,” Sara is adding to the excitement with more previews. Earlier this week, Sara shared clips of “If I Can’t Have You” and “Wicked Love,” both uptempo bops that promise good things for Amidst The Chaos. Today, we get to hear a new snippet of “Poetry By Dead Men,” another song we first heard a sneak preview of last summer!

Sara describes “Poetry By Dead Men” as:

…a daydreamer’s lament about someone who couldn’t in that moment step into love. I wrote it with one of the most delicious humans, @tranterjustin, and we both love stirring in the cinnamon. ❤️🎹

The “Poetry By Dead Men” preview starts with twinkling piano and the ominous line we know so well: “By the time you hear this, who knows where I might be?” The song continues to describe an impending breakup, but even so, Sara admits all the dreams she had for their relationship. The clip seems to cut out the chorus, going straight to the title line and a swell of strings at the end. Sara wrote “Poetry By Dead Men” about her boyfriend Joe Tippett; luckily, the breakup didn’t actually happen and they seem happy together.

The new song preview, like the two that came before it, is amping up our excitement for Sara’s new album! In just two days, we’ll get to hear the rest of this song and the whole album.

Hear the snippet of “Poetry By Dead Men” below:

You can pre-order Amidst The Chaos and get instant downloads of the four released singles. You’ll get “Armor,” “Fire,” “No Such Thing,” and “Saint Honesty” now, with the remaining eight songs coming on April 5th.

The album will include 12 new songs (which of the 13 songs Sara recorded didn’t make the cut?). Sara has recently performed the new songs in intimate concerts around the United States. You can hear the live previews online, but here at Hidden Jams we’re waiting for the album to drop first. Check out the full tracklisting for Amidst The Chaos below:

  1. Fire
  2. No Such Thing
  3. Armor
  4. If I Can’t Have You
  5. Eyes On You
  6. Miss Simone
  7. Wicked Love
  8. Orpheus
  9. Poetry By Dead Men
  10. Someone Who Loves Me
  11. Saint Honesty
  12. A Safe Place To Land (feat. John Legend)

Amidst The Chaos was produced by T Bone Burnett. Fittingly, the new music has a rootsy sound and will touch on politics, Obama, and love (for Obama, but also for Sara’s boyfriend, Joe Tippett). The imminent album will be Sara’s first in six years.

Six Years in Review

Sara’s last standard studio album, The Blessed Unrest, came out in July 2013. Though it’s been half a decade already, Sara has certainly kept busy with other projects. It started in 2015, when Sara released a book, Sounds Like Me: My Life (So Far) In Song. That year also launched Sara’s career in musicals.

More Sara Bareilles News

Sara composed all the songs for a musical called Waitress, which debuted in Boston in summer 2015. That November, a selection of those new songs appeared on Sara’s themed album, What’s Insides: Songs From Waitress. In 2016, Waitress went to Broadway; in 2017 – and again in 2018 – Sara took on the lead role of Jenna. She played Jenna for a third time earlier this year, and just finished her run in February.

Sara Bareilles is now also preparing a new TV show called Little Voice – not only a nod to her album of the same name, but also the title track she wrote 15 years ago. “Little Voice” will serve as the upcoming fall show’s theme. Perhaps the song will finally see an official release? We hope so!

Amongst the whirlwind of activity, fans have patiently awaited a new record. At this point, we won’t have to wait much longer! Catch up on all we know about the new record so far while we wait for Amidst The Chaos to drop this Friday.

Enjoy the new preview of “Poetry By Dead Men,” and get ready to hear Amidst The Chaos in full in just two days! Keep checking back here for all the latest Sara Bareilles music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.