Josh Groban & Sara Bareilles Offer Stunning Cover of “Both Sides Now”

Last month, Josh Groban announced his new album, Harmony, also revealing that Sara Bareilles would join him for a cover of “Both Sides Now,” originally by Joni Mitchell. Today, his new album is out, and we can enjoy their stunning rendition.

Joni Mitchell first released “Both Sides Now” in 1969, later sharing an updated version in 2000. While the first recording was earnest, built around acoustic guitar, the later release was more cinematic, with the wisened perspective of age and experience.

On Harmony, Josh Groban and Sara Bareilles opt for something in the middle, while also infusing the song with their own flair. It opens with gentle piano, Josh crooning the first verse and chorus with his rich, operatic baritone. Sara takes on the second verse, her voice tender, sweet, and occasionally ethereal. From there, the duo sings together, their voices blending perfectly. It’s an incredible cover of a beautiful and poignant song.

Listen to Josh and Sara’s cover of “Both Sides Now” below:

The new cover of “Both Sides Now” appears on Josh Groban’s just-released album, Harmony. You can stream or buy the album from all the major music providers here.

This isn’t the first time Josh and Sara have sung together, though it does mark their first studio recording with each other. In 2018, the duo hosted the Tony Awards, and in addition to funny banter, they also sang a few songs together. Further, Sara has actually sung Joni Mitchell’s “Both Sides Now” before: She performed it at the 2017 Academy Awards ceremony during the “In Memoriam” portion. You can see Sara’s live performance here.

Harmony features 12 songs. Ten of them are covers, while both “Your Face” and “The Fullest” are original new compositions. See the full tracklisting here:

  1. The World We Knew (Over And Over)
  2. Angels
  3. Celebrate Me Home
  4. Shape Of My Heart (feat. Leslie Odom, Jr.)
  5. Your Face
  6. Both Sides Now (feat. Sara Bareilles)
  7. She
  8. The Impossible Dream
  9. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
  10. It’s Now Or Never
  11. I Can’t Make You Love Me
  12. The Fullest (feat. Kirk Franklin)

More from Sara

Two months ago, Sara put out her own album, More Love: Songs From Little Voice Season One. As the title suggests, these are songs she wrote that were featured in her new Apple TV+ series, Little Voice. While Sara originally wrote some of the songs 15+ years ago, others are newer compositions specifically written for the show.

Her last studio album was Amidst The Chaos. It launched the singles “Armor” and “Fire,” plus promo singles “No Such Thing” and “Saint Honesty.” 

In addition to her new cover with Josh Groban, Sara has also shared two other covers this fall. First, she and Meg Toohey released their song “Lucky Streak,” honoring Broadway star Nick Cordero, who died of COVID earlier this year. Yesterday, Sara also joined Todd Carey for an updated acoustic version of his 2007 song “Smile”; Sara had previously sung backup on the original release 13 years ago.

Beyond music, Sara can also add acting to her ever-growing resume: In August, it was announced that Sara will star in a new comedy series called Girls5eva, coming to Peacock in the next year or so. They’ve already shot the pilot episode.

More Sara Bareilles News

Enjoy Josh Groban and Sara Bareilles’s new cover of Joni Mitchell’s “Both Sides Now,” and be sure to hear all of the Harmony album. Keep checking back here for all the latest musics news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.