Sara Bareilles Announces ‘What’s Not Inside’ EP Of ‘Waitress’ Songs

If you’re a Sara Bareilles fan at all, you’ve probably heard of a little thing called Waitress. The hugely popular musical – which has been on Broadway for several years and even starred Sara in the lead role a few times – features a full set of songs written entirely by Sara. In 2015, Sara released a special album, What’s Inside: Songs From Waitress. Now, as Waitress faces the end of its long Broadway run, Sara is about to release an EP entitled What’s Not Inside: The Lost Songs From Waitress. These are songs that Sara wrote for Waitress but didn’t appear in the musical.

The EP will feature seven tracks. In addition to the already-released “She Used To Be Mine” (which was actually in the musical) and “Door Number Three,” we’ll also get to hear Sara’s recordings of five other songs that should have appeared in Waitress. See the full tracklisting below:

  1. Happy Enough
  2. Door Number Three
  3. Knocked Up You
  4. Without A Believer
  5. I Can’t Wait
  6. Falling In Love Pie
  7. She Used To Be Mine

We’ll get to hear the full EP in just a few days; it drops this Friday. You can pre-order What’s Not Inside from iTunes now. While we count down the hours, let’s revisit Sara’s ballad, “She Used To Be Mine”:

Amidst The Chaos & Little Voice

Waitress has been a huge part of Sara Bareilles’s life in the last few years, but she’s kept busy elsewhere, too! Earlier this year, Sara made her big comeback to (pop) music with the release of her album, Amidst The Chaos. It launched the singles “Armor” and “Fire,” plus promo singles “No Such Thing” and “Saint Honesty.” Though, truth be told, some of our favorite songs weren’t even singles. Check out our track-by-track review of the stellar album and be sure to listen to it as we wait for the new EP.

Ever busy, that’s not all Sara’s been working on. She’s also currently developing a TV series called Little Voice – yes, named after her debut album and the title track that wasn’t on it. Sara performed her song “Little Voice” a few months ago. We’re hoping it’ll get a proper release in conjunction with the forthcoming show.

Stay tuned for What’s Not Inside – out on August 16th – and more from Sara in the coming months! As always, keep checking back here for all the latest music news.

More Sara Bareilles News

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.