Editors Share New Acoustic “Smokers Outside The Hospital Doors”

Later this month, Editors will release Black Gold: Best Of Editors, their first greatest hits compilation. Following their new singles “Frankenstein” and “Black Gold,” today Editors unveiled one of the deluxe edition’s special recordings: The acoustic “Distance” version of “Smokers Outside The Hospital Doors.”

Originally the lead single from Editors sophomore album, An End Has A Start, this new rendition feels more intimate and warm. Played with acoustic guitar, ebullient piano, soothing cello, and sweet violins, this version of “Smokers Outside The Hospital Doors” is as poignant as ever. Yet it also captures the song’s signature epic build-up as we reach the singalong climax, staying true to that original single first heard in 2007.

Listen to “Smokers Outside The Hospital Doors (Distance: The Acoustic Recordings)” below:

You can stream or download “Smokers Outside The Hospital Doors (Distance: The Acoustic Recordings)” from all the major music providers here. This version will also appear on the deluxe edition of Editors’ upcoming greatest hits album, Black Gold: Best Of Editors, due out October 25th. You can pre-order the album now and get instant downloads of this new recording as well as “Frankenstein” and “Black Gold.”

Additionally, every order of Black Gold: Best Of Editors on vinyl or CD from Editors’ official site will come with a bonus 8-track Snowfield The Snowfield Demos CD. The Snowfield Demos is an extremely rare recording from 2003, before Editors were even called Editors.

Best Of Album

Fans first heard “Frankenstein” when Editors debuted it live. The song was officially released in June. That same month, we also uncovered the song titles “Upside Down” and “Black Gold” when they were registered on ASCAP. Each of the three new songs list all five Editors members as writers. Interestingly, “Black Gold” also lists Andy Burrows as a co-writer.

Editors recorded “Frankenstein,” “Upside Down,” and “Black Gold” with producer Jacknife Lee in March this year. Jacknife previously produced Editors’ second album, An End Has A Start – the same record that gave us “Smokers Outside The Hospital Doors.”

Black Gold features 13 songs spanning all of Editors’ albums: The Back Room (2005), An End Has A Start (2007), In This Light And On This Evening (2009), The Weight Of Your Love (2013), In Dream (2015), and Violence (2018). It additionally features 3 new songs, and a deluxe edition bonus disc comes with acoustic recordings of 8 well-known songs.

Check out the full tracklisting of Black Gold: Best Of Editors below:

  1. Frankenstein
  2. Papillon
  3. Munich
  4. Sugar
  5. Hallelujah (So Low)
  6. An End Has A Start
  7. Upside Down
  8. Bullets
  9. Ocean Of Night
  10. No Harm
  11. Smokers Outside The Hospital Doors
  12. A Ton Of Love
  13. Magazine
  14. The Racing Rats
  15. Black Gold
  16. No Sound But The Wind

Deluxe edition bonus disc tracks:

  1. Violence (Distance: The Acoustic Recordings)
  2. Walk The Fleet Road (Distance: The Acoustic Recordings)
  3. Blood (Distance: The Acoustic Recordings)
  4. Let Your Good Heart Lead You Home (Distance: The Acoustic Recordings)
  5. Smokers Outside The Hospital Doors (Distance: The Acoustic Recordings)
  6. Fall (Distance: The Acoustic Recordings)
  7. Two Hearted Spider (Distance: The Acoustic Recordings)
  8. Distance (Distance: The Acoustic Recordings)

Editors - Black Gold

Best Of Tour

To celebrate Black Gold: Best Of Editors, the band will also tour in support of their upcoming greatest hits. Editors will kick off their European tour in Paris on January 30, 2020 and will eventually finish in the Netherlands on June 27, 2020. Find dates and tickets now!

Dates have not yet been announced for other parts of the world. Fingers crossed Editors will add more countries and cities!

More From Editors

Just last year, Editors released their 6th album, Violence. (It was one of our favorites of 2018.) After extensive touring and four singles – “Magazine,” “Hallelujah (So Low),” “Darkness At The Door,” and “Cold” – the band shared an alternate version of the album with The Blanck Mass Sessions, made up of earlier versions of the Violence songs. The album, released last May, featured their previously unreleased Violence song, “Barricades.”

Beyond Editors, the band members are also working on separate music projects. Frontman Tom Smith rejoined his other group, Smith & Burrows, to perform a brand new song. “All The Best Moves” is set to appear on their long-awaited second album together. They just finished recording it in Tennessee recording with producer Jacquire King. In the coming months, we’ll likely get more info on the new music and when we’ll get to hear it.

Tom also appeared on a song with UNKLE called “The Other Side” last December, and then on “Crucifixion / A Prophet” in March.

More Editors & Tom Smith News

Black Gold

Enjoy the new acoustic version of “Smokers Outside The Hospital Doors,” and get ready to hear Editors’ new greatest hits album, Black Gold: Best Of Editors, on October 25th! We’re excited to hear its remaining new track, “Upside Down,” upon the album’s release. As always, keep checking back here for all the latest Editors music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.