Vanessa Carlton Previews New Single, “Miner’s Canary”

We’re just one month away from Vanessa Carlton’s next album, Love Is An Art. Following her single “Future Pain,” a live debut of “I Know You Don’t Mean It,” and her latest single, “The Only Way To Love,” Vanessa is priming fans for another new song. We won’t get to hear “Miner’s Canary” in full until this Friday, but today fans can hear a short preview of it.

We can hear 25 seconds of the song in the new teaser video. Over a cascading swirl of piano, Vanessa croons, “You were older; you knew the way to keep me breathing even though the air was thin. There was no oxygen: a miner’s canary.”

“Miner’s Canary” serves as the closing track on standard editions of Love Is An Art. (A deluxe edition is said to also feature “Break To Save” as the 12th and final track.) Vanessa recently spoke to Blueberry Hill about some of the new songs; she described “Miner’s Canary” as a confessional song about “reckoning with toxic relationships.”

Check out the “Miner’s Canary” teaser video below:


We can hear “Miner’s Canary” in full this Friday, February 21st. It will appear on Vanessa’s upcoming album, Love Is An Art, out March 27th. Pre-order the album here now.

Love Is An Art Tracklisting

In December, we reported on 12 new Vanessa Carlton songs that had registered online. It turns out, all 12 of those songs will appear on the new album. See the full tracklisting for Love Is An Art:

  1. I Can’t Stay The Same
  2. Companion Star
  3. I Know You Don’t Mean It
  4. Die Dinosaur
  5. Love Is An Art
  6. Future Pain
  7. Back To Life
  8. Patience
  9. The Only Way To Love
  10. Salesman
  11. Miner’s Canary
  12. Break To Save [Bonus Track]

In a recent interview with Blueberry Hill, we get to hear a bit more about some of the songs. “Die, Dinosaur” was written after the shootings in Parkland, Florida and is about “the children who fill the world with love and grace while politicians fill their pockets.” Meanwhile, “Companion Star” focuses on relationships that last forever. “I Can’t Stay the Same,” on the other hand, describes “the relationship with the person staring back at us in the mirror, each and every morning.”

In addition to the first few singles, fans can already get a taste of three other songs. Last May, when Vanessa announced that Love Is An Art was mastered and ready for release, she also shared snippets of the upcoming title track and “Patience.” Vanessa first played “Love Is An Art” in March 2017. Fans may also remember “Patience”; Vanessa uploaded a 1-minute recording of the song to SoundCloud way back in 2012. It’s exciting that we finally get to hear a proper recording of the song!

Most recently, Vanessa debuted another new song live. She performed “I Know You Don’t Mean It” live for Paste Magazine three weeks ago.

The album’s songs were partially inspired by philosopher Erich Fromm’s 1956 book, The Art of Loving. Vanessa co-wrote all the songs with singer-songwriter Tristen. Dave Fridmann served as producer on the album.

Upcoming Tour

In support of the new album, Vanessa is about to go on tour. And extra exciting news: This will be the first time in a decade that she tours and performs with a full band. Yes, we’ll finally get to hear the songs as big as ever this tour!

Leg 1 of the tour will kick off on April 2nd in St. Louis and end on April 25th in Nashville. Leg 2 starts in New Orleans on May 27th and will extend through the American south and west coast before finishing in Kansas City on June 21st.

Find all dates and buy tickets here.

More Vanessa Carlton News

Revisiting Vanessa’s Work

Vanessa Carlton’s last album, Liberman, came out in fall 2015. It launched stunning singles like “Blue Pool,”“Operator,” “House Of Seven Swords,” and “Nothing Where Something Used To Be.” Since then, Vanessa also released a few special albums and EPs. We got Liberman Live in 2016, followed by the Earlier Things Live EP in 2017. Then in 2018, Vanessa released six covers; you can now get them all in one package on vinyl.

Last year, Vanessa Carlton also moved into exciting new territory: Broadway! From June 27th through September 1st, Vanessa played Carole King in the Broadway musicalBeautiful – The Carole King Musical. Will musical theater continue to play a role in Vanessa’s future or influence her own music?

Love Is An Art is due out on March 27th. Get ready to hear “Miner’s Canary” in just a few days; the album will follow a month after. For now, catch up on all we know about the album so far here. As always, keep checking back here for all the latest Vanessa Carlton music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.