12 New Vanessa Carlton Songs Registered For New Album

Vanessa Carlton just recently released her new song, “Future Pain,” the lead single for her upcoming album, Love Is An Art. The record is due out next spring, but we’re already getting exciting information about it. Our latest is a potential tracklisting for the album. Last month, 12 new songs were registered on BMI, the publishing rights organization Vanessa has been with her whole career.

Vanessa co-wrote all 12 of these new songs with singer-songwriter Tristen; Vanessa had previously revealed they worked together on her upcoming album. The songs all list Vanessa as a performer as well. From the list, we of course know new single “Future Pain.” We’ve also heard live performances of “Love Is An Art,” itself the album’s title track. Finally, we have old and new snippets of “Patience,” both from its original incarnation back in 2012 and its updated 2019 form.

Check out the 12 new song titles below:

  1. Back To Life
  2. Break To Save
  3. Companion Star
  4. Die Dinosaur
  5. Future Pain
  6. I Can’t Stay The Same
  7. I Know You Don’t Mean It
  8. Love Is An Art
  9. Miner’s Canary
  10. Only Way To Love
  11. Patience
  12. Salesman

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What do you think of the 12 new song titles? Any that you’re especially excited to hear? Let us know in the comments below!

Love Is An Art

In a new interview with Refinery29, Vanessa described her new album, Love Is An Art, out next spring:
This is the most out of my comfort zone I’ve ever been, in terms of wanting to work with someone like Dave Fridmann and do this enormous-sounding record. I want that era to continue. I just want to keep going into the — I just saw Frozen 2 with my daughter — keep going into the unknown.

In an interview with The Cut in summer 2018, Vanessa spoke a bit about her forthcoming 6th album, revealing that it was “partially inspired by Michael Pollan’s new book How to Change Your Mind. The concept came about a few years ago, based on a collaboration with indie music producer Dave Fridmann.”

The six covers she did in 2018 may be an indication of how her new music will sound. She told The Cut:

Doing covers is a way, as a musician, to see A) where your head’s at, because how are you going to interpret this? It’s like a mirror. And then B) it’s also a place where you can experiment and try different sounds.

We can already her three previews of Love Is An Art now. In addition to the single, “Future Pain,” fans can also get a taste of two other songs. Last May, when Vanessa announced that Love Is An Art was mastered and ready for release, she also shared snippets of the upcoming title track and “Patience.” Vanessa first played “Love Is An Art” in March 2017. Fans may also remember “Patience”; Vanessa uploaded a 1-minute recording of the song to SoundCloud way back in 2012. It’s exciting that we finally get to hear a proper recording of the song!

Revisiting Vanessa’s Work

Vanessa Carlton’s last album, Liberman, came out in fall 2015. It launched stunning singles like “Blue Pool,”“Operator,” “House Of Seven Swords,” and “Nothing Where Something Used To Be.” Since then, Vanessa also released a few special albums and EPs. We got Liberman Live in 2016, followed by the Earlier Things Live EP in 2017. Then last year, Vanessa released six covers; you can now get them all in one package on vinyl.

More Vanessa Carlton News

Earlier this year, Vanessa Carlton also moved into exciting new territory: Broadway! From June 27th through September 1st, Vanessa played Carole King in the Broadway musicalBeautiful – The Carole King Musical. Will musical theater continue to play a role in Vanessa’s future or influence her own music?

Love Is An Art is due out in spring 2020. Get excited for the 12 new songs we now know about, and enjoy “Future Pain” in the meantime. Get ready for more news as the album’s release date draws closer, and catch up on all we know about it so far here. As always, keep checking back here for all the latest Vanessa Carlton music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.