Tove Lo Drops “Sadder Badder Cooler” & ‘Sunshine Kitty: Paw Prints Edition’

Last September, Tove Lo released her 4th studio album, Sunshine Kitty, gifting us singles from “Glad He’s Gone” to “Mateo.” Today, Tove Lo rereleased the album with the new deluxe Paw Prints Edition featuring 8 additional tracks. At the front of the album, we get brand new song “Sadder Badder Cooler,” plus her 2020 releases, “Bikini Porn,” “I’m Coming,” and “Passion And Pain Taste The Same When I’m Weak.” At the end of the album, we also get remixes of “Are U Gonna Tell Her?” featuring MC Zaac and “Sweettalk My Heart,” plus live recordings of “Sweettalk My Heart” and “Mistaken.”

The only fully new song, “Sadder Badder Cooler” launches right into its robotic chorus. Tove declares, “I’m sadder, I’m badder, I’m cooler than I was when I met you.” She’s heartbroken, but she’s also gotten stronger from it. The verse offers a stomping beat as Tove lilts over the top. The pre-chorus is a highlight here: a euphoric melody as Tove cheekily sings, “Heartbreak pays bills; you lose, I win.” As the chorus finishes up, Tove infuses infectious cheering to make it even sweeter. It’s a charming and catchy song, and a great addition to Sunshine Kitty.

The accompanying music video is fully animated, following cartoon Tove and her sidekick Sunshine Kitty on a mission of vengeance. Turning heartbreak into violence, Tove gets back at her exes… usually with plenty of blood and death. We can’t condone this behavior, but it makes for some cathartic fun.

Watch the music video for “Sadder Badder Cooler” below:

“Sadder Badder Cooler” appears on the deluxe rerelease of Sunshine Kitty: Paw Prints Edition, out today. You can stream or buy it here. In addition to the original 14 tracks, it now includes 8 additional recordings. See the full tracklist below:

  1. Sadder Badder Cooler
  2. Bikini Porn
  3. I’m Coming
  4. Passion And Pain Taste The Same When I’m Weak
  5. Gritty Pretty – Intro
  6. Glad He’s Gone
  7. Bad As The Boys (feat. ALMA)
  8. Sweettalk My Heart
  9. Stay Over
  10. Are U Gonna Tell Her? (feat. MC Zaac)
  11. Jacques (feat. Jax Jones)
  12. Mateo
  13. Come Undone
  14. Equally Lost (feat. Doja Cat)
  15. Really Don’t Like U (feat. Kylie Minogue)
  16. Shifted
  17. Mistaken
  18. Anywhere You Go
  19. Are U Gonna Tell Her? (feat. MC Zaac) [Heavy Baile Remix]
  20. Sweettalk My Heart (Team Salut Remix)
  21. Sweettalk My Heart (Live at VEVO)
  22. Mistaken (Live at VEVO)

Sunshine Kitty previously launched the singles “Glad He’s Gone,” the Alma-assisted “Bad As The Boys,” “Jacques” with Jax Jones“Really Don’t Like U” featuring Kylie Minogue“Sweettalk My Heart,” “Are U Gonna Tell Her?” with MC Zaac“Equally Lost” featuring Doja Cat, and, most recently, “Mateo.”

Tove shared her new single “Bikini Porn” earlier this year, including “Passion And Pain Taste The Same When I’m Weak” as its b-side. Then in March, Tove shared her cover of “I’m Coming,” originally recorded in Swedish. Those three songs are now part of the Paw Prints Edition of Sunshine Kitty.

More Tove Lo News

Enjoy “Sadder Badder Cooler” and its music video, and of course the full Sunshine Kitty: Paw Prints Edition release. Keep checking back here for all the latest Tove Lo music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.