Muse Announces Release Of ‘Origin Of Muse’ Boxset

After first revealing plans in May 2017, today Muse finally made the big announcement: Their Origin Of Muse boxset is set for release this December! The boxset highlights Muse’s early career, including their earliest demos and first two albums. Both Showbiz (1999) and Origin Of Symmetry (2001) have been remastered, plus fans can hear dozens of demos, instrumental tracks, and live recordings. The boxset spans 113 tracks, including more than 40 that were previously unreleased.

In a new statement, Muse shared:

In celebration of the 20th Anniversary of the band’s debut album Showbiz, Muse have announced the release of the deluxe boxed set Origin Of Muse, available 6 December 2019.⠀

This deluxe set will chronicle the band from their early beginnings in Devon, their early demos, first EPs, debut album, and breakthrough record Origin Of Symmetry.⠀

The collection is housed in a 48-page casebound book & includes 9 CDs + 4 180g coloured Vinyl. It is 113 tracks in total, with more than 40 unreleased.⠀

Check out the announcement video below:


Origin Of Muse will include nine CDs:

  • CD1 – Newton Abbot Demos – 15 previously unreleased first demos by the band including an early version of the hit “Plug in Baby”
  • CD2 – The Muse EPs + Showbiz Demos – Their debut releases on Dangerous Records and previously unreleased demos for their debut album Showbiz
  • CD3 – Showbiz – Remastered debut album
  • CD4 – Showbiz B Sides – Contains a previously unreleased alternate version of “Recess”
  • CD5 – Showbiz Live – Previously unreleased recording of live shows broadcast on BBC Radio One in 1999/2000
  • CD6 – Origin Of Symmetry Instrumental Demos – Previously unreleased recorded at the Community Centre in Teignmouth
  • CD7 – Origin Of Symmetry – Remastered
  • CD8 – Origin Of Symmetry B-Sides – Every B side recorded for the single released from the album
  • CD9 – Origin Of Symmetry Live at Reading Festival – Full version of band’s headline performance of entire album recorded at Reading Festival 2011 on the 10th Anniversary of its release

The boxset will also include both Showbiz and Origin Of Symmetry on vinyl. The remastered albums appear on 180 gm heavyweight coloured vinyl.

All of this appears together in a 48-page booklet. The set also features an in-depth interview with Muse.

You can pre-order Origin Of Muse from your store of choice here. It comes out on December 6th.

More Muse & Matt Bellamy News

Simulation Theory

Muse’s last album, the stunning Simulation Theory, came out last November. It launched the singles “Dig Down,” “Thought Contagion,” “Something Human,” “The Dark Side,” and “Pressure,” plus videos for the songs “Algorithm,” “Break It To Me,” and “Blockades.”

More recently, frontman Matt Bellamy shared his song “Pray (High Valyrian)” on the Game Of Thrones soundtrack album, For The Throne.

Origin Of Muse

Be sure to pre-order Origin Of Muse now ahead of its December 6, 2019 release date. You can pre-order it from your store of choice here. This will be quite the treat for all fans of Muse!

Get ready to hear all of Origin Of Muse in just a few months. In the meantime, keep checking back here for all the latest music news.

origin of muse full boxset

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.