Lana Del Rey Shares “Fuck It I Love You” & “The Greatest” Music Video

Last month, Lana Del Rey revealed she was filming a double video for two new songs: “The Greatest” and “Fuck It I Love You,” both of which will appear on her new album, Norman Fucking Rockwell, out next week. Today, fans can finally hear both songs and see the inspired music video that connects them.

“Fuck It I Love You” starts with gentle acoustic strumming, reminiscent of “Music To Watch Boys To.” Lana rapidly sing-speaks on the song’s pre-chorus, harkening back to songs on Born To Die. We then get to a chorus that starts with a heavenly sound, transitions through dissonant vocal harmonies, and ends with a high whistling detail. This song sounds like a mix between the Lana of Born To Die and her updated, folkier vibe.

“The Greatest” highlights layers of guitar and strings. Lana croons over soft piano about missing Long Beach and then later New York. As we move through the pre-chorus and the chorus, we again get a classic Born To Die sound. This is the best chorus we’ve heard from Lana this era so far, and it ends with cool drums and a guitar solo. The song fades out with a long outro touching on various issues – “LA’s in flames”; “Kanye West is blind and gone”; “‘Life On Mars'” ain’t just a song.”

In the double music video, directed by Rich Lee, we watch as Lana performs at a coastal bar. She paints, plays darts, surfs, and wanders around the marina and on a boat, but the point is more on her reflective state of mind than on her actions. It’s a glimpse into a normal day, yet we get the sense that her mind is elsewhere. This is the most thoughtful and produced music video of this album era so far.

Watch the double video for “Fuck It I Love You” and “The Greatest” below:

You can stream or download “Fuck It Love You” from all the major music providers here. Conversely, stream or download “The Greatest” everywhere here. Both will appear on Norman Fucking Rockwell, out next week. You can pre-order the album now.

Norman Fucking Rockwell

Lana is about to release a new album. You can pre-order Norman Fucking Rockwell from Lana’s official website here. The album comes out next week on August 30th.

Both “The Greatest” and “Fuck It I Love You” will appear on the album. We’ve also heard several other songs in full already – singles “Mariners Apartment Complex,” “Venice Bitch,” “hope is a dangerous thing for a woman like me to have – but i have it,” and “Doin’ Time,” plus a live performance of “How To Disappear.” We’ve also heard several clips of album tracks.

Check out the full tracklisting below:

  1. Norman Fucking Rockwell
  2. Mariners Apartment Complex
  3. Venice Bitch
  4. Fuck It I Love You
  5. Doin’ Time
  6. Love Song
  7. Cinnamon Girl
  8. How To Disappear
  9. California
  10. The Next Best American Record
  11. The Greatest
  12. Bartender
  13. Happiness Is A Butterfly
  14. hope is a dangerous thing for a woman like me to have – but i have it
More Lana Del Rey News

“Looking For America” & “Season Of The Witch”

Ever generous with her music, Lana released two additional songs on August 9th, although neither will appear on her new album. She wrote “Looking For America” following the back-to-back shootings in the US in the first weekend of August. Lana then released the song just a few days later.

Lana also recorded a cover of “Season Of The Witch” – originally by Donovan – for the new Guillermo Del Toro film, Scary Stories To Tell In The Dark. Rumor has it Lana may have a few more movie soundtrack songs coming out later this year.

Enjoy both “The Greatest” and “Fuck It I Love You,” as well as the new music video for both! In just one week, we’ll finally get to hear all of Norman Fucking Rockwell! Catch up on everything we know about it so far here. The album will be released on August 30th. As always, keep checking back here for all the latest Lana Del Rey music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.